Pure Vanity

I’m getting a little over the whole self-promotion thing myself, but I’d like consider myself a writer of some sort, and that means I need to actually write and post more frequently than once in a blue moon. Since I don’t always have a finished poem handy nor a rambling essay ready to go, lately I’ve had to resort to the lowest common denominator: Royal Chant.

Last week we flew down to Melbourne for a show, and Brendan & I had the chance to stop off at the Undercover offices and do an interview as well as play some acoustic tunes from the new record. Honestly, I’m not a fan of interviews, mostly because I have nothing to say nor any interesting way to say it. Interviews are an art form in and of themselves, and I envy those who can bring something, anything to the surface while under scrutiny with the cameras rolling. I tip my hat to our particular interviewer, Andrew Tijs, because he did a great job of carrying me through the whole thing as well as being knowledgeable about the band and asking relevant questions that go far above and beyond the press release. I wish I could be more articulate, but I’m not. For whatever it’s worth, my favourite moment comes right around 5:44 when the interviewer asks if we think the songs on the new record fit together and Brendan answers with a “YEAAHHHH” that manages to sound both droll and enthusiastic.

Royal Chant – Undercover Interviews

The acoustic tunes speak rather more for themselves, coz yeah, that’s kinda what things sound like when we turn the amps off.

Royal Chant – Usessions

And I am out of here again. Off to Sydney for another show, where dozens of people are waiting to flee the building. Shout back if it’s been a while. It’s a beautiful day here in Australia, the water was warm (for once), the dolphins were out en masse, and today things seem alright.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Pure Vanity”

  1. kolembo Says:

    One interesting person…you have energy coming off you like solar flare off the sun. You enjoy what you do and who you are and it shows.

  2. Greer Says:

    You two are adorable!

    I liked the acoustic versions very much, especially on Bored Awake it was nice to hear your voice so bare, so different to the album version though I like that too. I quite like that clip of you on YouTube singing in the park and these reminded me of that a bit.

    It seems like you’ve got some good momentum going, and very well-deserved given all your hard work and your immense talent. I wish you guys all the luck in the world.

Leave a Reply

