Midnight Surprise

I meant to have something a bit more meaningful and less self-congratulatory in this space, but since this came up at the last second I thought I’d do a little shuffling and share this now. Last night, as I was vegetating on the couch after work, post-teaching, I received a text from our manager with a link. Sure enough, when I ambled over to the computer and typed it in, here’s what awaited me….

Which is a nice way of ending one’s day, with a nice surprise. Last month we shot this video on stage at the Vanguard in Newtown (NSW), and then I promptly forgot about it. Unknown to me, our director of photography and editor Narayan Holden was hard at work, sifting through 200+ takes of us playing a song that is all of 1:37 long, (and that’s being generous by including the fade out and silence at the end).

The whole thing was shot on 3x iPhone 4 cameras, and to be honest, I thought our manager (and director for this enterprise) was being far too optimistic about its chances of success when he suggested it (about a year ago, if memory serves. Possibly longer). But, sure enough, it works, and not only does it work, but works really really well, which means that I’m going to be in debt for quite a few beverages the next time we have a band meeting. Shows what I know….

If it was up to the band, we would have had this really elaborate/shoe-string video involving….wait for it….Ghosts. Yeah, the 4 of us, plus extras, in Charlie Brown & Co white sheets, with the eyes cut out, running around Sydney and being rowdy, etc etc. Truth be told, if it was left up to us the idea would still be at the bar where it was conceived. Manager: +1, Royal Chant: -3170.

So, have a look and listen if you’ve got less than two minutes to spare, and let us know what you think if you’ve got a few more.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

