Winged Apologies

I’ve been meaning to write a post about depression.  When it hits, how it hits….I’d certainly like to write about why it hits, but who on earth knows that answer to that?

Instead, I hit a bird today on the way to school.  I feel terrible, but in a different way.  Poor little lorikeet.  They are not the brightest, but they are sweet, in their own noisy & chatterbox kind of way.  I’ve always laughed with sadness every time I’ve seen s bird smash into the side of a bus or attempt to fly beneath a car, but today it all seems just a little bit heavier.  I’ve always wanted to send out a memo to all our flying friends, essentially reminding them that they can have pretty much the entire sky to themselves, as long as they give the human race the first 10 or 20 feet so, especially around cars.  But no, sometimes these things just happen and then it hurts for a while and then maybe the karmic scales are adjusted slightly or maybe in the end nothing happens at all.

There’s always time for depression, for better or for worse, but for now here is a song that almost suits.  If you listen to the lyrics it actually doesn’t really relate in any way other than the chorus, but for now that is enough.

Lastly, if you’re on the hunt for a decent read I would highly recommend Iris Murdoch’s The Green Knight.  It’s been quite a few years since I’ve read it, but as soon as I hit the little fellow today I thought of the character Moy, the youngest of three daughters and my quiet favourite.  At one point she apologizes to a lemon peel, and I’ve often thought — ‘Aye, I know what you mean.

I’m sorry.  I hope you didn’t suffer.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Winged Apologies”

  1. Greer Says:

    love x

Leave a Reply

