Muck + Irish Eyes

I’m really tired of being so ambitious with this blog.  You wouldn’t know it, because I post so rarely, but on this side of the ink curtain it’s a bloody mess and only getting worse.  I really hate to start every post with an apology, but I think in this case this public excoriation is more for me rather than you.

The problem is that I keep trying to tackle really big, ambitious subjects.  For instance, I tried writing about “Thinspo”, or, in layman’s terms, that subsect of blogging which is not only devoted to anorexia, but towards encouraging oneself and others to stay strong and remain committed to the ideal.  Do you have any idea how hard it is even to begin a single sentence on that subject?  To get my point across (which was admittedly a fairly convoluted one to begin with), would have required the precision of a rhetorical surgeon, and that is way, way beyond my ken.  After the first few lines any person of normal intelligence would have thought, “so you’re supporting what these poor girls are doing to themselves?”.  And the answer is “No no no no….that’s not what I meant…it’s just that I sort of….I mean, I can relate….it’s rather like….um…ug….sigh”.

I often tell my students that anything worthwhile requires work.  What I don’t tell them is how often I shy away from it.

I’ve been thinking quite a lot about writing.  Not only about “Gee, I wish I could write ______”, but about the honest capabilities of whatever writing muscle I might posses.  And I think it’s worth noting: I write songs.  As much as I salivate over poets, immerse myself in fiction, and scratch my chin at incisive social commentary, the fact remains that I am essentially engaged in a lazy man’s “art”, and yes, I use those quotation marks very, very deliberately.

It’s not that I don’t think songs are art, but from a purely verbal perspective it might perhaps be overrated.

Unfortunately, I have wandered into yet another territory that is too broad for my pen, so for now I will have to leave it be and say good night.  Before I do, here is installment #4 of Royal Chant’s Sleep Quintet.  Music is changing in every way, from it’s conception to its reception, so we have created a “thing” and have decided to curate it in our own fashion, molded out of pride and financial restraint.  It is yours to do with as you see fit.  It is ours, from the heart.

Cheers for now….it’s 11:30 and the tennis is on.  There’s some cider lying around and I shall most certainly indulge.  My plane leaves for Brisbane in 10 hours.  I’m looking forward to a spell away.  I’ll miss the cat though, among other things.

Cheers & Peace & Tea to you all…

Mark

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Muck + Irish Eyes”

  1. kolembo Says:

    Ahaha! Enjoyed this immensely! A blurt! (Also the tracks good!)
    Yep,the tennis is on, it will have to be Federer. His slightly imperious air is beginning to grate, but this generation I think he should just get on with it and win another few Slams. Serena too. Begrudging respect for Sharapova…and wanting Stoza (sp!) to pick it up a notch.

    I’m really tired of being so ambitious with this blog. Made me laugh so hard I almost swallowed my tea-cup.

    Ahhh, I tell you. Poetry can be over-rated. You’ve never had to deal with the utter revolt of having written a love poem and thought that all is well with the world, only to have it resurface a few years down the line.

    I took a writing detour and did a ‘one-hundred day meditation’ in an effort to write something everyday (about me…it’s all about me!)

    http://shitsugane.wordpress.com/2012/06/26/day-ninety-nine-being-grateful-for-grass-when-the-house-is-falling-in/

    It worked some.

    Now I know for sure that ambition with blogging belongs to those who have the time to really pursue ‘the changing face of Haiku’ for at least ten years.

    You know the sort.

    I’d rather be in a band.

  2. songwriters,songwriter,music,original,publisher,publishers,record,label,song rights,record deals,sell songs Says:

    songwriters,songwriter,music,original,publisher,publishers,record,label,song rights,record deals,sell songs…

    […]Muck + Irish Eyes « slantrhyme[…]…

  3. slantrhyme Says:

    Kenneth,

    thank you a thousand tea-leaves for your words. I just got home and have been meaning to write you for a few days now (I could read your words but not comment back properly).

    So…Fed won again (bless him), and I am still stuck in a mass/mess of words. I think we might both envy the others’ position, especially me looking at the way you use your words as a sword.

    Alright, it is late, and I have not nearly said as much as I wanted to. For now, please accept my thanks in a million tongues, and a strong cup of tea.

    Peace,

    Mark

Leave a Reply

