Tour Film

Happy St. Patrick's Day

It’s a dreary day here, raining for the most part or looking like it’s about to when it’s not.  That’s OK, given the national origins of the holiday that most of Australia is celebrating.  Oddly enough, I have yet to crack a bevvy today, and there is a good chance that I will make it to midnight without raising a single pint of Kilkenny or listening to The Pogues even once.  I’m not sure why, but I’m very tired and not feeling very inspired.  I’ve got the house to myself for the evening, as I’ve had it all day, and all I have managed to do is some haphazard reading and sleep.  A lot of sleep.  Something is amiss.

In July of 2011, Peter Ballard joined Royal Chant on tour.  He carefully shot and edited a 45 minute film about the experience and has released it in three installments on YouTube.  I am very proud of him for making it through the short tour he did with us.  It is no easy feat.

I was going to offer my own commentary, but instead I’m going to let the film do the talking, barring a few instances.  Watching the film is a self-excoriating, humiliating experience that sends waves of self-loathing roaring over my skin and makes the bile rise in my throat.

In part 2 of the series, Peter keeps the camera on me starting at 7:42, and watching me talk is pure hell.  But, I deserve it.  I really am this foolish.  I hate the sound of my voice and hate the drivel that keeps pouring out of my mouth, essentially repeating myself with minor variations.  I can only hope that I will keep this in mind next time I start rambling on.  I talk too much.  I need to remember that.  Here you go….

Somehow, from the end of part 2 and the start of part 3, Matt has stolen my beloved hat/scarf combo wrap-around thing.  He had his eye on it the whole tour and must have got it off me somehow.


During the credits at 13:08,  it shows me scowling on a park bench in freezing Ballarat.  I have to laugh at that, because as much as I loathe the way I look at least it is honest.

In keeping with the theme of punishment, I am including a link to a site I put up a few weeks ago.  I can only say that on some level I am trying to be brutally honest with myself and anyone who decides to take an interest in me & my work, and all that implies.  Listen at your own peril, and let us never speak of it again.

Mark Spence Bandcamp

Happy St. Patrick’s Day to you and your loved ones.  Write back if it’s been a while.  It’s nice to get something other than spam.

-M

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

