The Hag Of Beare

In an angry mood, I thumbed through my Faber Book of Irish Verse and fell upon this. I liked it, and it calmed my raging, nonsensical storm. Or, perhaps it made it worse and I merely felt better. There is no specified translator of this 9th century Gaelic piece, so at the very least I’d like to credit the editor of the book, who also translated many of the works in this volume. I’m sure that if he had done this particular piece he would have credited himself, (as he does numerous times elsewhere), but alas, there is none. Tip of the hat to John Montague, just in case.

The Hag Of Beare

Ebb tide has come for me:
My life drifts downwards
Like a retreating sea
With no tidal turn.

I am the Hag of Beare
Fine petticoats I used to wear,
Today, gaunt with poverty,
I hunt for rags to cover me.

Girls nowadays
Dream only of money–
When we were young
We cared more for our men.

Riding over their lands
We remember how, like nobles,
They treated us well;
Courted, but didn’t tell.

Today every upstart
Is a master of graft;
Skinflint, yet sure to boast
Of being a lavish host.

But I bless my King who gave–
Balanced briefly on time’s wave–
Largesse of speedy chariots
And champion thoroughbreds.

These arms, no bony, thin
And useless to younger men,
Once caressed with skill
The limbs of princes!

Sadly my body seeks to join
Them soon in their dark home–
When God wishes to claim it,
He can have back his deposit.

No more gamy teasing
For me, no wedding feast:
Scant grey hair is best
Shadowed by a veil.

Why should I care?
Many’s the bright scarf
Adorned my hair in the days
When I drank with the gentry.

So God be praised
That I mis-spent my days!
Whether the plunge be bold
Or timid, the blood runs cold.

After Spring and Autumn
Come age’s frost and body’s chill:
Even in bright sunlight
I carry my shawl.

Lovely the mantle of green
Our Lord spreads on the hillside!
Every spring the divine craftsman
Plumps its worn fleece.

But my cloak is mottled with age–
No, I’m beginning to dote–
It’s only grey hair straggling
Over my skin like a lichened oak.

And my right eye has been taken away
As down payment on heaven’s estate;
Likewise the ray in the left
That I may grope to heaven’s gate.

No storm has overthrown
The royal standing stone.
Every year the fertile plain
Bears its crop of yellow grain.

But I, who feasted royally
By candlelight, now pray
I this darkened oratory.

Instead of heady mean

And wine, high on the bench
With kings, I sup whey
In a nest of hags:
God pity me!

Yet may this bup of whey
O! Lord, serve as my ale-feast–
Fathoming its bitterness
I’ll learn that you know best.

Alas, I cannot
Again sail youth’s sea;
The days of my beauty
Are departed, and desire spent.

I hear the fierce cry of the wave
Whipped by in the wintry wind.
No one will visit me today
Neither nobleman nor slave.

I hear the phantom oars
As ceaselessly they row
And row to the chill ford,
Or fall asleep by its side.

Flood tide
And the ebb dwindling on the sand!
What the flood rides ashore
The ebb snatches from your hand.

Flood tide
And the sucking ebb to follow!
Both have I come to know
Pouring down my body.

Flood tide
Has not yet rifled my pantry
But a chill has been paid
On many who in darkness visited me.

Well night the Son of Mary
Take their place under my roof-tree
For if I lack other hospitality
I never say ‘No’ to anybody–

Man being of all
Creatures the most miserable–
His flooding pride always seen
But never his tidal turn.

Happy the island in mid-ocean
Washed by the returning flood
But my ageing blood
Slows to final ebb.

I have hardly a dwelling
Today, upon this earth.
Where once was life’s flood
All is ebb.

Tags: , , ,

17 Responses to “The Hag Of Beare”

  1. Gurdana-khan Oxby Says:

    Good post there. Keep up the great work.

  2. Acai berry select review Says:

    I love the way you’ve laid out the flags on Nadal (stuff we’ve all been talking about for years) in a clear timeline. I would add to that the ridiculous shots he makes from out of position with no leverage (like Bonds hitting ball late and still se…

    Any logical person will question these qualities about Nadal. He’s not a superman, we know this. The conclusion then is he’s on some supplements. Quite simple, I just don’t understand why a tennis fan or journalist cannot see this simple case/effect…

  3. click here Says:

    click here
    Who cares, the world is ending in 2012 achieve natural sleep

  4. ipad 2 free Says:

    Great review! This is truly the type of blog post that should be shared around the web. Shame on the Yahoo for not positioning this blog post higher!

  5. Deane Mccammon Says:

    Hello Webmaster, I noticed that https://slantrhyme.wordpress.com/2011/09/26/the-hag-of-beare/ is ranking pretty low for some keywords, this may be due to the new Google Panda update, or it could be due to a variety of other factors. I’m sure you already know about On-page SEO, where Google cares highly about proper formatting of various H1/H2/H3 tags, having your main keyword appear in the beginning of your post and having your post end with the keyword, along with having keyword related alt tags and very relevant LSI. However, you do not seem to have the proper Keywords or relevant Keywords in your posts and in the website. Right now you need a tool or plugin that will allow you to check on Keyword insights, search trends and check for backlink analysis and to find out your Keyword competition. To find a Keyword Plugin that combines both Keyword Research and has the ability as a Rank Checker is what WordPress Seo Keyword, please check out our 5 minute video.

  6. Klub Says:

    I truly love this post. I’ve been searching everywhere for this! Thank goodness I uncovered it on Yahoo. You’ve made my day! Thank you again.

  7. Doradcy finansowi Says:

    I’d like to many thanks for the efforts you’ve put in writing this webpage. I am hoping the same high-grade website article from you in the future also. The fact is your original writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own blog site now. Actually the blogging is spreading its wings fast. Your own write up is the best example of it.

  8. Pozycjonowanie Warszawa Says:

    I do accept all of the ideas you’ve presented inside your article. They are highly convincing and will absolutely work. Still, the posts are very short for newbies. Can you please extend them a little from next time? Thank you for the blog post.

  9. Pozycjonowanie Warszawa Says:

    You could most certainly see your skills in the work you write. The world hopes for even more passionate writers just like you who aren’t afraid to say how they believe. Always follow your heart.

  10. Problemy gospodarki Says:

    F*ckin’ wonderful details right here. I am incredibly lucky to discover your write-up. Many thanks a lot and i am looking forward to contact you. Are you going to kindly drop me a email?

  11. Kręgle Says:

    Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Yahoo, and found that it’s seriously informative. I am going to look out for brussels. I’ll be grateful if you continue this in future. Numerous people will probably be benefited from your writing. Regards!

  12. Blog Finansowy Says:

    I’ve been missing for a while, however right now I remember why I used to love this web log. Thank you so much, I’ll try and check back more often. How frequently you upgrade your web site?

  13. Kręgle Says:

    Hey there, You’ve done a terrific job. I’ll absolutely digg it and personally highly recommend to my good friends. I’m sure they’ll be benefited from this internet site.

  14. Nieruchomości Says:

    Hi there, I uncovered your blog site via Search engine while searching for a related topic, your web page came up, it looks very good. I have saved as a favorite it in my google bookmarks.

  15. Przewozy autokarowe Says:

    It’s like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I’m sure that you can do with a few pics to drive the message home a bit, but instead of that, this is wonderful site. A terrific read. I’ll most certainly be back again.

  16. Przewozy autokarowe Says:

    In my opinion many other web page proprietors should really consider this internet site as an model, very clean and good user friendly design and style, as well as the content. You can be a guru in this topic!

  17. Elektroniczne papierosy Says:

    I had been highly recommended this web site by my in-law. I’m not sure whether this article is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my trouble. You’re awesome! Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

