Slug

It is a beautiful Saturday morning here, and I am still in bed.

There is nothing wrong with me, but I was, up until a few minutes ago, operating under the assumption that I would need to “load-up” on my sleep prior to a somewhat hefty excursion we’re about to undertake. Allow me to explain:

Royal Chant has just released our debut LP, Raise Your Glass & Collapse, and with that comes a fair amount of touring and promotion, ideally as much as you can get your hands on and hopefully far more than you think you can handle. (Trust me, we’re not even close to reaching either of those yet). With that in mind, last night we played a previously scheduled show at a quiet country/beach pub called the Valla Beach Tavern. (There is always something truly endearing and honest about gigs like these, and I mean that without sarcasm or condescension. It might be a cliché, but to say that the folks we meet at these gigs are truly salt of the earth does express a certain verity.) We got paid with some much-needed cash, and made it home just before 3 AM. It was loud, the people became rowdy, and there was not a shred of cynicism to be found in the place.

The problem is that a few weeks ago we were lucky enough to score a gig in Melbourne for Sunday night, which means flights, plans, scrambling, and all sorts of lovely hassles. We couldn’t really pass up the gig, as it’s being put on by a radio station and heavily promoted, so we said YES even though the thought running through our heads was HOW?!?!?!

The plan was to leave Port Macquarie at 2 AM Sunday morning to arrive at the Newcastle airport in time for our 6 AM flights to Melbourne. That would have sucked, hence my idea of powersleeping! It wouldn’t have worked or have made any difference, and I knew that, but still, I had to try.

I have since learned, however, that we have some friends who live right near the airport who are happy to put us up for the night, meaning that we won’t wind up landing in Melbourne looking like zombies with a entire day to kill and a gig looming far in the evening distance. That is a plus. But now I have no reason to stay in bed, so into the shower I go, with packing and the re-checking of the air-worthiness of my guitar cases to follow. It is not in the least glamorous or cool, but it is what we do in order to keep playing.

There is always more to say and sometimes more to come, but for now, we must be off….

Cheers & peace to all.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Slug”

  1. Greer Says:

    I think it sounds pretty glamourous and cool. Hope it was a great show and that all the others are too.

Leave a Reply

