Definite grumbling…

Today I was closing up my room in the music shop when a smiling Mum walked in and proudly announced, “I was on the internet last week and read something very fascinating about the drums!” [Keep in mind that I’m paraphrasing here, I’m not smart enough to remember verbatim, and I didn’t have a tape recorder handy. Possibly because I don’t own one.] “Did you know there was a one-armed drummer from Def Leppard? Isn’t that just amazing, the way he had the willpower to just keep going?”

I’m sure you can imagine that my response was suitably amazed and fascinated.

Are you effing kidding me?!?!?! You JUST find this out? This lady looked like she’s got a few years on me, so if I was a betting man I would have thought that she’d be in the front row back in the day, begging Def Leppard to Pour Their Sugar On Her. Apparently not.

I’ll be honest–I’ve never met anyone who didn’t know about the one-armed drummer. (His name is Rick Allen, by the way.) I remember when it was kinda sorta news and people were talking about it, and now I’m pretty sure that it is an accepted fact and that it’s in the collective unconscious. My unborn kids already know about the one-armed drummer, and I’m pretty sure my grandmother was hip to it, rest her soul.

And that was the highlight of my day. At least, if you count getting mildly annoyed as a break from the norm.

I’ve got a few posts planned….but they keep getting away. If you remember Pee-wee’s Big Adventure, when he’s rescuing the pets and keeps avoiding the snakes at all costs….? That’s pretty much a handy image to use with this latest batch. Things have been busy and rather interesting with the band, so before I sign off for another month or so I though I would share the following kernels of pizazz:

We’ve just released our new single, “Ghosts”. You can get it off of Triple-J by downloading it HERE. Or, you can head over to the Royal Chant Bandcamp page and snag it in a much classier format. Get your limbs moving for 1:37 of snazz.


While you’re over there, you might as well take a look and have a listen to our latest and greatest, Raise Your Glass & Collapse. It is our debut LP and we are immensely proud of it, even though we try our best to be humble. You got an opinion? Then by all means, we would absolutely love to hear from you, good or bad.

That’s all for now. If you’ve got a minute to spare you can head over to Tone Deaf and check out an interview I did. As you read, you might feel your inner worth blossom.

Cheers, that is all for now….

Tags: ,

One Response to “Definite grumbling…”

  1. kolembo Says:

    hey, well done. and don’t knock it, I have no idea about the one-armed-drummer! Great post, great read, and ya, I am going to go out and look for your stuff.

    again, well done. On, on.

Leave a Reply

