Less Than Nothing….

I have some more ambitious posts planned, but it’s dark outside and I don’t have it in me to finish them off and put something nice and new up to start the week.  Instead, I’m taking the easy way out and posting a non-event, rather like reading the news instead of making it.  So, here goes: Royal Chant has just released it’s second EP, Starts & Stutters, and we’re giving it away all kamikaze-Radiohead style by making it available for download and allowing you to pay whatever the hell you want, including absolutely nothing.

Whether rightly or wrongly, that’s the way things are going these days, and I can’t say that I mind terribly much.  A lot has been written about the music industry: how we got here, where we’re headed, the importance of a good band stylist, etc, but quite frankly I just don’t care.  I would rather go back to college algebra than discuss the music industry.   Honestly, I’d rather teach college algebra rather than discuss the music industry.  I can’t lament losing any money coz I’ve never had any, so I’m still operating in the noise level where getting your song on the radio is a big deal.  When that stops giving me a buzz then maybe I’ll start using terms like “leverage”, “key demographic”, “market saturation”, and “Hey, we sold something!”

Get yer kicks out and grab a copy here.  We want you to have it.  If you’re feeling really spunky you can tell your friends and help us spread the word.  We’re proud of the album, but we have bigger and better things on the way.   The only reason I’m dropping my demure facade and boasting of future triumph is because we’ve finished work on our next album, which is a nice but rare situation.  The next release in an LP, called “Raise Your Glass & Collapse”, and it certainly dispenses with a of the pop niceties that have snuck onto our previous releases. 

Writing a song used to constitute roughly 1/3 of it’s journey (with teaching it to the band and then performing it live rounding out the pie chart), but now that initial feat constitutes a far smaller percentage of a much larger and longer process.  I won’t bore you with the details, because I bore myself just thinking about them, but it’s enough to say that it has changed.  Even adding another guitarist adds an extra layer of disconnect, although the gains are well, well worth it.   I count myself lucky that I’m still in a band that keeps things as simple as possible, but I do miss those absolutely pure garage days.

What was I talking about?  I’m not sure anymore.  Perhaps next time I will regale my readers with quaint stories of life on the road, with emphasis on the foibles of not playing country music when playing in country pubs for country audiences.

Perhaps.

Until then, give us listen if you’re so inclined, and make sure you play it loud.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Less Than Nothing….”

  1. Mr Tomato Says:

    What’s wrong with college algebra?

  2. slantrhyme Says:

    In an objective sense, there is absolutely nothing wrong with college algebra. Subjectively, it is a trial and terror for me, but I have nothing but absolute and utter respect for those with the gift of numbers. I have tried to better myself, reading “Beyond Numeracy” and other works by John Allen Paulos. All I did was convince myself that, yes, there is a world of numbers that is both deep and mysterious, and that no, I can’t be a part of it.

Leave a Reply

