Difficult Decisions….

Sometimes it’s hard to know what to do in the face of life’s difficult, twisted realities.  For instance, recently the band was in New Caledonia, which is a French-speaking country.  With so much sun and sand to bask in there was hardly any cause to turn on the telly, but on my last night in Noumea, as we were waiting to be taken to the venue for our final show, I had an hour or so to kill, and, having finished my book, decided to see what was on.  Now, as luck would have it, they manage to beam an Australian station onto the island, so surely on a Saturday night there would be something nice coming in from Australia, right?  WRONG.  You know what I got?  Lawn Bowls.

That was not gonna happen, so I started flipping around, and what should I happen upon?  The Mighty Ducks!  That’s my choice?  But then, I had to admit to myself that, geez, I’d rather watch The Mighty Ducks in French that lawn bowls in English.  I hate The Mighty Ducks, so what does that say about televised lawn bowls?  Rather, I suppose I should ask, “what does that say about me?”.  I never would have guessed that, but there it was.

And here it is, a dreary Saturday morning, and I’m trying to talk myself into surfing beneath these grey skies.  Maybe the waves will be OK, but without the sun, I feel like I’m getting ripped off.  As I’m trying to talk myself into making some sort of decision, I flip on the telly (I’m seeing a pattern here), and there’s the video for the new John Butler Trio single .  Wow, that sounds like a really shitty Everclear song, remixed for the next generation, only worse.  So what do I prefer to watch instead of this paublum?  Hannah Montana.

That’s right JB, you got schooled by the Cyrus family, and there’s nothing I can do about it. That just happened.

I should mention, that when I say that I chose Hanna Montana over the JB Trio, that means I watched 40 nauseating seconds instead of 15.  I tried…life is hard.  I’m going outside.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

