As if against a pumice stone

You know me, as you are known
we have smoothed our edges
with long, deep strokes
as if against a pumice stone.

More rounded now, I think
for certain a resemblance grows
deeper, clearer, and deeper still
so far alike, so further distanced.

And then what?
What are we, will be?
Each, the other?
The other, each?

I know you, as you know me
naked, boring, tedious, bereft
of magic
un-new, too known
dull eyed, dull speech

I know you, as you know me.

-m.j.s.
15/12/2009

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

